In Wyoming, e-scooters don`t require a license or registration, and local authorities treat them like electric bikes and electric skateboards. Speed limits depend on the local requirements of each city. As expected, New Jersey has had legislation regarding electric scooters since May 2019. They are specifically classified as «low-speed» electric scooters on which you can stand, which have handlebars and must not exceed a top speed of 20 mph (32 km/h). You must respect the same rules of the road as bicycles. Whether they are allowed on sidewalks and trails depends on the different cities and municipalities. No valid driver`s license, insurance or vehicle registration is required. Wearing a helmet is mandatory for people under 17 years of age. No state requires drivers to wear safety equipment to operate an electric scooter, but it is highly recommended for self-preservation.
Helmets are required by law by 10 states, mainly for cyclists under the age of 18. We believe you should wear safety equipment at any age, but this is not a legal requirement. In 2019, a bill was passed that defines standing electric scooters as a separate class of vehicle. The bill establishes that low-speed electric scooters are considered bicycles under Maryland`s Vehicle Act and can only have a top speed of 20 mph (32 km/h). Bike paths should be used if possible and they are also allowed on roads and sidewalks. All other rules of the road apply. Stop signs, driving on the right side of the road, turn signal, etc. Helmet requirement for all drivers under the age of 16. Whether or not the license is necessary is unclear at the time of writing. Missouri doesn`t have clear laws for electric scooters and instead uses other laws to impose them.
For example, any scooter with a top speed of less than 30 miles per hour falls into the category of bicycles – but the above falls under motorcycle laws. In Michigan, electric scooter drivers are classified according to the same rules as electric skateboards. They must not exceed 25 mph, nor exceed the power of the 2500W motor. The e-scooter seems to be popular in Colorado. At least from a regulatory point of view. Electric scooters are allowed on roads with a speed limit of 30 mph (48 km/h) or less. The same laws and regulations apply to bicycles. You can drive on sidewalks, but with a maximum of 6 mph (10 km/h). Cyclists must be at least 16 years old to ride and under 18 years old must wear a helmet.
Top speed allowed is 20 mph (32 km/h). Some information indicates that a license is required and others say that this is not the case. Anyone can use electric scooters, but anyone under the age of 17 is required by law to wear a helmet. It wasn`t the scooters that were the problem, but the lack of clarity about how people could use their electric scooters. New laws have come into force to ensure the safety of scooter drivers, other road users and pedestrians. In this quick reference sheet, Unagi has provided the information you need most using color-coded icons and buttons. You can see where electric scooters are already legal, which states are currently crafting laws, and which states have not yet enforced. Keep in mind that each state has its own laws that govern the use of electric scooters on public roads. So you also need to familiarize yourself with these state-specific rules.
Electric scooters are quickly becoming the most popular way to drive through cities in the United States. They`re eco-friendly, cheaper than cars, and you don`t have to worry about congestion between strangers on public transport. Adults do not have to meet this requirement. You can ride electric scooters without wearing a helmet. Electric scooter companies like Lime, Bird and Spin recommend riding with only a helmet. Driving without having one is often at your own risk. In Maryland, scooters have a top speed of 20 miles per hour. Low-speed scooters are classified as bicycles and are subject to the same restrictions.
North Carolina has stricter laws that consider electric scooters like any other vehicle. All electric scooters must have a DMV registration, and drivers are not allowed to drive on roads with a speed limit of more than 25 miles per hour. Do I need insurance for my electric scooter? In the United States, local and federal transportation agencies do not currently require electric scooter drivers to have insurance. Drivers are only legally required to have a valid driver`s license. The only places where you are legally required to purchase electric scooter insurance are the state of Illinois in the United States and the state of Texas in the United States if the motor power of the electric scooter exceeds 750 watts. Another state that has conflicting information on whether electric scooters are legal or not. Idaho`s legal guidelines regarding electric scooters can be very confusing. The problem is that there is no specific difference between them and motorcycles. Other motorized vehicles, such as scooters, are grouped together and called «motorized toys». You must meet the following criteria, which describe motorcycles, otherwise it will be assumed that you have a motorized toy.- The vehicle must have a 50cc motor- Have two wheels to travel- Be autonomous without human assistanceIf you fail to do so, it is assumed that you have a motorized toy and unfortunately you are not allowed to use it on public roads.
The State of Idaho does not consider motorized toys to be manufactured for public roads. Therefore, no registration and license is required. If you`re not sure what type of vehicle Idaho has for you, it`s best to contact your local DMV office to find out. In Idaho, electric scooters are legal on the road and are not considered motor vehicles. No license, registration or ticket is required for the trip. However, Boise is the only city that has regulations. Electric scooters can be used within the city limits of Boise at the following locations:- Sidewalks and zebra crossings- On bike paths- On the 25 miles of Greenbelt trails managed by the City of BoiseHow to park and specific no-ride areas are also listed. No-Driving Zones: – Parts of Boise State University- Skate Parks De Boise Capitolidaho State (no park zone)- Boise Foothills- Kathryn Albertson Park Electric scooters are legal in Nevada.
They must not weigh more than 100 lbs (45 kg), must not exceed a maximum speed of 20 mph (32 km/h) and the driver must be at least 16 years old. They are allowed on bike paths, trails and other types of roads where they are not allowed to ride faster than 15 mph (24 km/h).